An English Christmas Eve

by awindram

[tweetmeme source=”awindram” only_single=false] Christmas Eve is bringing to the fore my inner conservative. This is normally the day where I seal myself off from all but a select few and indulge in a Christmas of my own making and my own nostalgia.  But as I’m spending Christmas in New York and accordingly having to deal and conform to Christmas traditions that are not my own or of my own making, I am finding that, though there is still an abundance of tinsel and Christmas trees everywhere I look, I am not feeling as Christmassy as I might. The problem is, and I had never before realised it, is my notion of Christmas is a pecuilarly English one. 

Thankfully, the internet can provide a little Christmas Eve comfort.

As provost of King’s College, Cambridge, M.R. James would entertain his friends each Christmas Eve with a ghost story. Trying to read “oh, whistle, and I’ll come to you, my lad” on the E train might not be a perfect replacement for a roaring fire, but it’ll have to do. Failing that, there’s is Jonathan Miller excellent adaptation with my favourite Michael Horden performance.  

Christopher Lee reading as M.R. James.

A little Dickens.

From the BFI’s you tube page the earliest known film adaptation of A Christmas Carol.

And thanks to the BBC iPlayer, Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols from King’s College, Cambridge.

