Big Ben Barbie: or how Mattel attempts to encapsulates Britain with one crappy doll.

by awindram

[tweetmeme source=”awindram” only_single=false] Another entry from our intermittent series where we look at the tat you occasionally find on sale featuring tenuous and slightly irritating British connenctions. I give you – Big Ben Barbie: Well, it could have been far worse, I suppose. They could have dressed her as a beefeater or given her a bobby’s uniform – which, come to think of it, would almost certainly make Barbie look like a stripper ready for someone’s stag night.  Actually, I’m sure that’d be a big seller. I do think that the large gold ear-rings and the pulled back hair give Barbie an authentically chavy look. I have no doubt this must appeal to Barbie collectors or some of the weirder anglophiles out there. Bigger question is, what on earth was I doing browsing the toy section at Target?

