My dulcet tones

by awindram

[tweetmeme source=”awindram” only_single=false] AS A LARGE NUMBER of you who seem to read or comment on this blog are fellow bloggers, I thought I’d leave a quick post about a new site that may interest you. For the last few days I’ve been fiddling around on broadcastr. Though still in beta testing, I think it has fantastic potential for bloggers to make good use of it. In a nutshell, on the site you record a three minute snippet of audio and then pin that audio clip to an actual geographical location on the broadcastr global map. So if, as a seven year old, you traumatically lost your teddy bear in Penn Station, you can recount that tale in three minutes or under and then you “pin” that story to Penn Station. The boffins behind the site describe it as Four Square for story tellers, though I prefer to think of it as You Tube for NPR listeners.

Surprisingly, making sure you come in under the three minute mark is trickier than I thought it would be, but I’ve been giving it a go. My first effort was a rather earnest little bit of literary history regarding my hometown, but I’ve followed that by readapting some old blog posts on sport, American motels, and cultural misunderstandings. They’re not great by any stretch of the imagination, and you also have to put up with my rather odd voice, but I think it’s a great site with heaps of potential (though equally it could descend into a nest of vipers once there’s a critical mass there) for bloggers connected to geographical places in the way expat bloggers are. I’d be fascinated in hearing what you think about this site.

