BBC Radio on the World Series

by awindram


Via Facebook, I came across this short You Tube clip of BBC Radio’s coverage of the recent World Series. Now I found myself interested by this clip for two reasons. One: I’ve surprised myself how curious I found this. The commentary is by Simon Brotherton who primarily covers soccer. Brotherton commenting on baseball seems out-of-place to my ears. It’s a voice that I expect to tell me that Darren Bent has scored a goal rather than David Freese has hit a home rule. Two: I’m surprised by the reaction I read on Facebook to this. Well, “surprised” isn’t really the right word, it’s just that the reaction is in marked contrast to every British reaction I’ve seen to when an American commentator covers a soccer match which always ends up being a horrible mixture of contempt and xenophobia.

_______________________________________________________________________________

If you want to stay discombobulated, don’t forget you can subscribe to Culturally Discombobulated using the email subscription button on the right hand side of the screen. Or, if you are a real masochist, you can follow me on twitter at @C_Immigrant or at @awindram.

