Groundhog day

by awindram

Groundhog day: an annual display of cutesy Americana in rural Pennsylvania. My immediate response to whether there’s to be six more weeks of winter was “screw it, I’m in Cally, bitches!” then I remembered a Bill Hicks routine about someone with a similar attitude and I really didn’t want to be that dick.

LA is a nightmare place, man. You always meet this one guy out in LA, you always – this real smarmy guy. He always says this. ‘Yeah, I love calling back east January 1st. What are y’all doing? Snowed in, huh? Bummer. Me? I’m out by the pool! Ha ha ha haaa!’ What a dick this guy is. It’s why I used to love to call LA when I lived in New York: What are y’all doing? Talking to TV producers, huh? Bummer. me? I’m reading a book! Yeah, we’re thinkin’ back east. Yeah, we’re evolving. Is that the big one I hear in the background? Bye…

Bill Hicks

