New York Primary, 19 April 2016

by awindram

“Give me your tired, your poor, 
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed, to me:
I lift my lamp beside the golden door.”
Emma Lazarus

“I will build a great wall — and nobody builds walls better than me, believe me —and I’ll build them very inexpensively. I will build a great, great wall on our southern border, and I will make Mexico pay for that wall.”
Donald Trump

GOP New York Primary – Win for Donald Trump

Dem. New York Primary –  Win for Hillary Clinton

In what seemed like a dark omen, when news of Trump primary win came through the top of the Empire State Building was lit the color of clotted blood. There were reports that the demonic offspring of Hecate could be seen dancing above the Manhattan skyline while on the ground Duncan’s horses ate themselves … but not before first taking tourists on a beautiful carriage ride through Central Park.

In victory, Trump was surprisingly muted. CNN claimed that by not calling an opponent “Lying Ted,” Trump was not merely indulging in the base level of accepted public discourse, but was somehow now “Presidential.”

Trump on his best behavior made certainly for uncomfortable viewing; he always feels like he is moments away from saying something disastrous. – like your racist uncle under strict instructions from your aunt at a mixed race wedding.

So it appears that Trump will gain all but several of New York’s delegates. With next week’s primaries also likely to be extremely favorable for him, I guess the question, in terms of the delegate count, is how close is close for Trump? And, if, as tonight suggests, the Trump momentum has not stalled as it previously looked like it might be, how will that allow a Cruz if finishes hundreds of delegates behind Trump to appear as a legitimate nominee for the general public? Even though Trump needs 1,237, if he is denied the nomination after falling short by fifty or so votes, how does the person who gets it in his place not appear as a usurper, or the GOP’s Lady Jane Grey?

