85 long, dark nights for America: Such bloody awful poetry

by awindram

Eighty-five long, dark nights to go.

Trump’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “CLINTON REFUGEE PLAN COULD BRING IN 620,000 REFUGEES IN FIRST TERM AT LIFETIME COST OF OVER $400 BILLION.” [Aside: Today was a remarkably quiet twitter day for such a prolific user as Trump].

Clinton’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “”The place of your birth should never be a barrier.” A letter to young undocumented people on DACA’s anniversary.” 

Daily election article of interest: The Putin-Trump Mind Meld, A Wondrous Enterprise

Before bed, let’s think on poetry and a Trump inauguration. Five inaugurations have seen the reciting of a poem specially written for the occasion. Notably all five have come at the inaugurating of a Democrat – Kennedy, Clinton (on both inaugurations), and Obama (on both inaugurations).

And yet having the last two inaugurations makes me wonder if that means it is more likely that Trump would include one should he win, that and his definite love – if misplaced love – for the English language.

It would have to be a great poem, naturally, one that would help make America great again. A clear rhyming scheme would be a must, none of this blank verse faff, and it must definitely not reek too much of the academy.

But who to write it? Who could be possibly be the Dryden to Trump’s Charles II? There doesn’t seem to be anyone up to the task. Certainly no living American poets that I can think of, though there may be some songwriters who could be up to the task. Ted Nugent springs to mind.

Or it may be that the only writer up to the task is Trump himself? Found poetry is when a non-poetic source is re-purposed into the poetic, something that could be done with Trump’s speeches. Here’s a quick effort using his convention acceptance speech:

I AM YOUR VOICE

I have embraced crying mothers who have lost their children

I AM YOUR VOICE

I have visited the laid-off factory workers

I AM YOUR VOICE

I have a message for all:

Death

Destruction

and weakness

I AM YOUR VOICE

Lives ruined

Families ripped apart

A nation in mourning

History is watching us now

I AM YOUR VOICE

I AM THE LAW

 

