82 long, dark nights for America: Mr Brexit

by awindram

Eighty-two long, dark nights to go.

Trump’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “They will soon be calling me MR. BREXIT!”

Clinton’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “Donald Trump promised to release his tax returns if he ran for office. Now? ‘It’s none of your business.'”

Daily election article of interest: From 2004 – Donald Trump answers the Proust questionnaire 

“Sometimes, in the heat of debate and speaking on a multitude of issues, you don’t choose the right words or you say the wrong thing. I have done that. And believe it or not, I regret it. And I do regret it, particularly where it may have caused personal pain. Too much is at stake for us to be consumed with these issues.” Donald J. Trump – August 18, 2016.

It’s the statements that he has said and that he does not regret that I am most interested in. Still, this is not the sort of rhetoric expected of Trump the day after having emasculated Paul Manafort.

Weird twitter pronouncements such as “they will soon be calling MR BREXIT!” are more in keeping with my expectations although I had hoped we had seen the end of the Brexit portmanteau, at least, on this side of the Atlantic.

I wasn’t entirely sure as to what he meant by Mr Brexit, but then that has been the case with so much of what Trump has said this election; far too much collective brain power has been spent in the country trying to parse the twaddle that comes out of Trump’s mouth every time he opens it. Apparently he intended it as a reference to his terrible polling numbers and how, like the Leave vote, he could still pull off an unexpected victory. That is shame as I had initially wondered if it meant he wanted to become a sort of American Nigel Farage. Perhaps he could go down the Farage route of growing a laughable moustache? But really the worst thing about Trump calling himself Mr Brexit is you just know Dead Ringers will end up doing a really bad musical sketch about it to the tune of Mr Bombastic.

In related news, in five locations across the country nude statutes of Trump were erected during the night. Like the earlier Illma Gore portrait of Trump the nude statues gift him with a micro penis. I don’t know art, but I do know what leaves me feeling nauseated.

