33 long, dark nights for America: Respite

by awindram

Thirty-three long, dark nights to go. 

Trump’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “Thoughts & prayers with the millions of people in the path of Hurricane Matthew. Look out for neighbors, and listen to your local officials.”

Clinton’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “ is a major storm. I urge everyone to follow emergency instructions and evacuate if you’re told to. Stay safe Florida.”

Daily election of interest: Why we’re living in the age of fear

Tonight’s hypnagogic musing finds me at something of a respite from the confusion I’ve been feeling towards my adopted country. I do not think my nightmare will be entirely US-centric this evening. The early morning sun as it hit the city was enough to rekindle a love affair, and all the political nonsense that I read in the news today – a UKIP MEP with the Amisian name of Mike Hookem punching and hospitalizing a colleague, that Hungarian referendum result, the Chechen leader having his children take part in televised MMA fights – was a reminder that even if America is fucked up at the moment, that is a diagnosis that could be given to the rest of the planet too … and that feels oddly liberating, like some of the pressure is off the US for its own irrationality.

