27 long, dark nights for America: Shoddy Parenting

by awindram

Twenty-seven long, dark nights to go. 

Trump’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “Very little pick-up by the dishonest media of incredible information provided by WikiLeaks. So dishonest! Rigged system!”

Clinton’s Daily Twitter Highlight: “We have to win this election.

Daily election article of interest: More Women Accuse Trump of Groping and Sexual Harassment   

It’s probably a form of child abuse that I’ve had enough TV news on or newspapers out that my three-year-old can excitedly identify Trump and Clinton. On a plane today she screamed out “Donald Trump” when his image popped up on the TV. While I was not without parental pride that she can already outperform most adults answering Jaywalking questions on the Tonight Show, I did wish she could have left that outburst for a more private setting.

I hope tonight’s electoral nightmare, if there is one, is a little less surreal than last night’s. A few days in Maine has me use to the omnipresent sights on U.S. Route 1 of lobster shacks on the highways all seemingly featuring a cartoon lobster, often smiling while performing an act of self-cannibalism. I wouldn’t have minded, but the image was conflated in my subconscious with the GOP nominee, so I ended up dreaming of a cartoon lobster Donald Trump happily feasting on his own flesh.

20161012_1300090-01

